Party like it’s 1999: Eggnog Biscotti and Baked Eggnog Oatmeal

*Note: I wrote this last Friday originally, but then I lost time to finish, and I was watching Sherlock this weekend, so I just couldn’t and yeah, sorry for my not many postsness…*

Yeah, I went to a party Friday. I’m not much of a social person, so I’m always excited at first to be invited to something, but then I realize that it involves being around people and I have to be nice, etc. One of my best friends, Larry, crashed it, though, at my partial asking, so that made it better/ funny.

All I did yesterday was go to the gym, the Children’s Museum of Richmond for a meeting about my Gold Award, and then ran a few errands with my grandma after that, and then went to the gym and Martins with my mom. I’ve actually finished everything that I really need to do, so after lunch I was kind of bored. So why not make some eggnog biscotti while I wait for my mom?

Eggnog Biscotti

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup white wheat flour (an experiment for me, I’ve never used it before)
  • 1/2 cup oat flour
  • 3/4 cup nuts (I used almonds and walnuts)
  • 2 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • handful or so of dried cranberries (optional. I ment to put some in mine, but forgot)
  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil
  • 3/4 cup honey, agave nectar, coconut nectar, whatever fancy’s you
  • 1/2 cup eggnog (I used So Delicious Coconut Nog)
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl and the wet in a smaller one.

image (32)

Now stir the wet into the dry!

image (33)

I put mine in the fridge while I went to the gym to kind of soak up more liquid, but you don’t have to! Take the batter and form a round loaf with it on a cookie sheet with wax paper.

image (34)

Put in the oven for 30 minutes. When that’s done, take it out and cut into the logs you want. Put back in for 10 minutes.

image (36)

image (37)

Mine was still soft after that, but it was really good; you could taste the eggnog more!

For dinner Friday, I had Tofurky Italian Tofu Sausages and Tofu Spaghetti with tomato sauce. It tasted waaay better than it looks and sounds!

image_2

For breakfast on Saturday, I made Eggnog Baked Oatmeal with Caramelized Bananas (original here). This was SO good! We all loved it!

Eggnog Baked Oatmeal with Caramelized Bananas

For oatmeal:

  • 2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar substitute (I used half honey half blackstrap molasses)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/4 cups eggnog type of choice (I used So Delicious Coconut Nog)
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

For bananas:

  • 2 yellow bananas, sliced
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Combine all the ingredients for the oats together in a large bowl. Pour into a greased/sprayed pan. Bake for 25-30 minutes. Meanwhile, put your banana slices on a plate and coat with vanilla, and then cinnamon. Use however much of each you want; I used a lot! In a greased pan over medium heat, plop your bananas in and cook, flipping constantly, until the vanilla and cinnamon have caramelized. Put some oats in a bowl, place bananas on it, maybe pour some milk or more eggnog on it, and enjoy!

image (38)

image_1

image_4

Yummm :)

Saturday, we went to the gym, did a little grocery shopping, and I watched Sherlock, which, by the way, is an amazing show, though no surprise there since it is the BBC! Sunday, I had a cake decorating “refresher”, where I made these roses:

image_8

Fun fun! Then, I went to a Girl Scout meeting for a while. When we came home, I made this for dinner:

Roasted Vegetables and Quinoa

Serves 6-8

  • 1 cup quinoa (dry)
  • 2 cups water
  • ½ pound broccoli, cut into florets
  • 1 sweet potato, chopped into ¼ – ½ inch chunks
  • 1 15 oz can chickpeas
  • 1 bunch  kale, shredded
  • olive oil, as needed
  • ¼ cup fresh parsley
  • juice from one lemon
  • ½ Tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons honey
  • 3 Tablespoons olive oil
  • salt and ground pepper, to taste
  • crushed red pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Cook the quinoa and water in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce heat to simmer, cover it, and let it soak up the water. Once it’s all absorbed, put it in a large serving bowl. Toss broccoli and sweet potato chunks with a little olive oil and roast for about 10 minutes. Then, add in the parsley, kale, and chickpeas. Toss, and roast for another 10 minutes, tossing the veggies around at least once during the roasting process so they don’t stick, etc.Once done, combine the vegetables with the quinoa. 

  • In a small bowl, whisk together lemon juice, vinegar and maple syrup. Stir in oil, and add salt, pepper and crushed red pepper flakes to taste. Stir it into the salad, and enjoy!

image_6

image_5

image_7

  • I haven’t made anything since that, because school. But I promise that I’ll update with more soon!

-HV

Leave a Reply

